Multipass rendering for shader material

Shb

Hi all,

I was wondering if it was possible to access variables from a previous pass in the shader, i.e color of fragment or something along those lines.

I want to have something that changes color over time after an event occurs. So if I can access a time delta plus a previous color then I can slowly modify it to a new state, is this possible?

*Note this is my first time working with shaders, please excuse any stupid questions ?

Thanks.

It's possible, just not directly from within the shader. Instead you pass the data to the shader on the JS side of things, i.e. assuming you have an instance of shader material, pseudocode:

shader_material.setVector3('inputColor', new BABYLON.Vector3(1,0,0);
shader_material.setFloat('time', 0.0);

Then after event occurs you can do something like

current_time = 0.0;
time_step = 0.01;
scene.onBeforeRenderObservable.add(() => {
  shader_material.setFloat('time', current_time + time_step);
});

@thrice

Thanks for the quick response :)

The event in this case is local to that part of the mesh and is calculated by passing an array of objects_positions into the shader

I wanted to retain the values calculated by the previous render because calculating them again seems inefficient (as I'd need to pass in old values & new values, then do the calculation for both, which still doesn't achieve what I want to do as it gets rid of the calculations done before the immediately last one).

For example in the pictures below I wan there to be slow transition between the color not an instant one on movement of the sphere.

ss1.png.4f91f6278e9a13f77817848380ee087b.pngss2.png.67f520c79f6deb9500a7a6f1937c262f.png