Rendering to canvas in css-grid

Richard C

I'm new to pixi.js and struggling to find a solution in the pixi documents.

I want to use a pixi stage on a canvas within a specific cell in css-grid. In fact, I should like to use different pixi effects in a number of cells in the grid which makes the entire web-page. Is this possible?

All examples seem to add a canvas to the body tag which is not what I need obviously.

I have researched previous questions in here but all seem to refer to earlier versions of pixi.js.

A succint answer would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks

Richard C

Hello! I know several projects that focus both on DOM and PixiJS, and its a difficult . First, you have to be aware of limit on WebGL contexts. If you create too many, old ones will break.

I don't entirely understand what do you want, but here is the answer on question that gets posted here *every week*

myAwesomeCanvas = document.createElement('canvas');
const app = new PIXI.Application({
    width: 800, height: 600, view: myAwesomeCanvas
});

//same params as new PIXI.Renderer

I would point you to our docs but it seems the site is down for today due to problems with AWS :(

http://pixijs.download/dev/docs/index.html

That option is in param list for "PIXI.Renderer" . 

Sources: https://github.com/pixijs/pixi.js/blob/dev/packages/core/src/Renderer.js#L53

Also since it seems that you are going to use multiple canvas or move a canvas around, please read https://github.com/pixijs/pixi.js/wiki/v5-Custom-Application-GameLoop , that 'll help you to track all of things that pixi does. The only exception is interaction plugin, it automatically registers when renderer is created and you have to wrestle with "renderer.plugins.interaction" to take control if you need it.

Hi Ivan

Thanks for the prompt reply.

The web-page is laid out as a responsive grid (css-grid) as per the attached image.

I would like a different pixi canvas in the three grid cells as shown.