what's the best program to get started.

parthshah

I've always wanted to actually properly finish a full project, but always had something holding me back, but I'm sick of talking myself out of doing something because it's going to be hard.

So I want to make a 2D JRPG (So original), I have some experience with GameMaker 1 (In fact I still have a copy of the indefinite trial version) but am thinking that moving up to a more up to date program would suit my needs better.

So when it comes to creating a 2D game, would GameMaker Studio 2 or Unity Personal be better.
Unity Personal is free, though I have limited experience with Unity as a software. While GameMaker Studio costs $40 for a 12-month license for a PC/Mac only version. Or $100 for a permanent PC/Mac/Mobile version.

• 3 weeks later...

Kind of some weeks already, but if you read this... Well if you are going for 2D JRPG, why not RPG Maker MV? RPG Maker MV is mostly Html5/PIXI.js with a RPG editor. I think it will make a lot of things easier for you when it comes to RPG functionalities like battles, dialogues, menus...

• 2 months later...

Another late reply, but I thought I'd share my opinion: I think Game Maker is a lot simpler tool for 2D games than Unity, and I'm not sure how well the latter is suited for HTML5 game development specifically. Unity allows you to make a lot of features, but for a 2D JRPG, you won't be needing many of the more complicated features, such as physics simulations, etc.

• 1 month later...