New Pixi Loader

Huanzyz

Hello everyone, I am a student from Vietnam. I bump into some issues on my very first step into Pixi JS and it was two days that i cannot find a way to make it work. Therefore, i decide to seek for help and it means a lot to me if you guys can give me some advices about my problem. Thank you all in advance.
My idea is very simple. I want to load an image and trigger some events when the image start/finish loading, then display it on the canvas.

My image path is an URL.

My problem is:

- the resources doesn't include the texture property (but when i download the image, save it locally and use a local path instead of URL, the texture property appears)
- it works when i use Sprite.from(url) but i cant attach events when start/finish loading like using loader

Wish you have a nice day sir and stay safe

canvas.html

Hi Huanzyz,

I'm also currently in Vietnam, so happy to help.

There are a few problems with your code:

The file type here is .pnj when it should be .png

const url = "http://deelay.me/2000/https://66.media.tumblr.com/avatar_d319f37438d5_128.pnj";

In your Application declaration, you don't need a comma after the last item.  It should be like this - note, no comma after transparent.

const app = new Application({
      width: 1000,
      height: 600,
      transparent: true
    });

Finally, as Ivan showed, url shouldn't be inside the { }.  Only crossorigin should be and you don't need a comma at the end either .  Like this:

loader.add(url,{crossorigin: 'true'})
.load();

Also, as Ivan said, it's good to use an ID in your loader.add, which you then reference in the Sprite:

loader.add('tex',url,{crossOrigin: 'true'})
    .load();

const image = new Sprite(resources['tex'].texture);

See attached for the full file.

canvas (1).html

Thanks @opd changing pnj to png fix my problem