Adding properties to sprite class

moe091

I'm still pretty new to javascript so there are a lot of thigns i don't understand. 

One thing that would be useful for me in my phaser games is if I could add a reference to my gameobject inside the gameObjects sprite object. I use gameobjects to represent things like enemies and the enemy object has a reference to its sprite, maybe I need to stop trying to force java style OOP into javascript so much, but I already have a large game coded this way so I'm not about to go back right now.

Anyway I tried just adding this.sprite.owner = this into my gameobject constructor but it's giving me undefined when I try to access sprite.owner in other parts of the code. Is it possible to get the behavior I'm going for? Am I doing it wrong? Are there any other solutions to my problem?

the reason I want to do this is because there are a lot of callbacks(collision for instance) that pass the sprite object to a function, but I need to operate on the sprites GameObject in the collision reaction function, so isntead of looping through all the gameobjects and checking if their sprite matches the gameobjects sprite to figure out which gameobject it belongs too, I could just use sprite.owner.

Another side question. In my GameObjects prototype object I have a die() function that makes an explosion animation and adds points to the players score and everything. I used to call it when the objects health went <= 0 but I recently learned that phaser has health and alive variables along with convenient accompanying functions like revive(x, y, health) that I could use to reuse my sprites more easily, so I'm switching over to using the built in phaser methods/properties. The problem is setting the onKilled event callback of the sprite to call the die() method.