PIXI / WebGL Theory

blakjak44

Hey Guys,

I'm still pretty new at this but I have been playing with PIXI quite a bit this year (which I want to thank the developers for all of your hard work - PIXI is amazing) and, while I have gotten pretty familiar with it,  I am trying to dig deeper in an effort to optimize my application.

I have been going through the source code to try and wrap my head around how it all works under the hood and it's starting to become more clear. My question is more or less about how WebGL works under the hood and how PIXI manages textures. For example: I need to render around 50 1920x1920 16bit images at a time (I posted on this before: https://www.html5gamedevs.com/topic/45138-what-does-this-sad-face-mean/?tab=comments#comment-250221). PIXI has done a pretty damn good job of this, but I'm sure I have a lot of room to optimize. I understand there are 16+ texture slots available depending on the GPU. Does this mean the flow would be something like this: 16/50 textures are uploaded to the GPU --> 16 textures drawn --> textures purged from the GPU --> repeat until all textures are drawn. If that is the case, are the textures constantly being removed from the GPU and then re-uploaded for each frame? Or do the uploaded textures remain on the GPU and PIXI will just bind the necessary textures to the available slots before each draw call. How does GPU memory impact this process?

Hopefully that's clear, but I apologize if it isn't. Thanks!

Edited by blakjak44

short answer: no, it does not purge textures from gpu mem. 16 locations mean we can use 16 textures in one drawcall, but we can specify which textures of already uploaded they are.

> 50 1920x1920 16bit images at a time

ugh... which internal format do you want to use?

btw, you can capture one frame of webgl commands using SpectorJS extension (doesnt work on pixi-examples iframe)

Edited by ivan.popelyshev