How to make GameObject push another GameObject

emily2278

Hello, I just started learning Phaser 3, 2 days ago so I am very new.

I am currently using the latest version of Phaser 3, developing using webpack and npm to bundle and serve to a Firefox browser.

Right now, I'm trying to create a game where the main character (ninja) is being controlled by the user's cursor. How I have done this, is basically when the cursor moves, the character sprite will move along with it.

this.input.on('pointermove', function (pointer) {
            this.ninja.x = pointer.x;
            this.ninja.y = pointer.y;
}, this);

this.ninja.body.setAllowGravity(false);

Right now I also have a small frog character on the platform, and I want to make it such that the user can use the cursor (ninja) to push the frog. However, the 2 GameObjects (frog and ninja) simply overlap and there is no "pushing" physics occurring.

• I have enabled physics and gravity in the game config
  • I have added physics to the respective sprites
  • I have added colliders for both the ninja and the frog

Here is the code for the above mentioned things that I have added

this.frog = this.physics.add.sprite(400, 400, 'frog');
this.frog.setCollideWorldBounds(true);

this.ninja = this.physics.add.sprite(game.config.width / 2 - 16, game.config.height / 2 - 16, 'ninja');
this.ninja.body.setAllowGravity(false);
this.ninja.setCollideWorldBounds(true);

this.physics.add.collider(this.ninja, this.frog);

Below is a screenshot of what I have so far, basically the large sideways frog is the ninja, and the small box at the bottom is a small frog, and I want the ninja to be able to push the frog, however the colliders just overlap and no "pushing" occurs.

Does anyone know if there is any way to make it such that: floating GameObjects controlled by the cursor are able to push other GameObjects in the scene? image.png.1226a04826a9729323ceb455708bf5e3.png

Edited by raniceyue