Graphics.containsPoint() from a parent container's coordinates

gurkesaft

Hi all,

I've been poking around the web and documentation for some time now and feel I'm missing something basic, and cannot figure this out:

Suppose I have a "master" container with a bunch of objects (containers) in it, and one of those objects (also a container) has within it a Graphics object in which I've drawn a polygon. Is there an easy way to use the Graphics.containsPoint() to test whether a coordinate from the master container is within the Polygon? 

I'm open to other (especially *faster*) solutions, e.g., if Graphics.containsPoint() is slow compared to using a Polygon or Rectangle object. 

Thanks!

Jack

PS- Sidequest: is there an efficient way to test whether things like Polygons and Graphics in different containers overlap?

to test whether a coordinate from the master container is within the Polygon? 

The most effective is:

graphics._recursivePostUpdateTransform();
const tempPoint = new Point();
graphics.containsPoint(graphics.transform.localTransform.applyInverse(myPoint, tempPoint));

you may omit updateTransform or call how it works internally if you are sure that matrix is already updated.

otherwise, use "grahics.toLocal(point, container, tempPoint)", it takes care of everything but it requires extra "apply"

PS- Sidequest

No.

Wow that was fast and insane, thank you. I'll give this a shot.

> otherwise, use "grahics.toLocal(point, container, tempPoint)", it takes care of everything but it requires extra "apply"

Is this slower? If not, how would the code look? I'm a little concerned that the deep code you sent above will change in future implementations of Pixi, so if there's a "cleaner" implementation I'm for it.