[P2] low fps on mobile (circular colliders)

Lotti

Hello! :)

I'm a noob about html5 game development and phaser too!

I made this sample game / demo http://lotti.github.io/phaserTut and managed to make it run on mobile devices inside chrome and inside cocoonjs "accelerated" canvas view on a nexus 4 where i get 18-21 fps.

What am i doing wrong? the game uses p2 physics because i need circle collisions. is there some techniques i can use to get more fps? (You can also answer: you have too many collider/sprite on the screen at the same time :P)

Thank you :)

I know P2 use lots of resources especially o mobile, so I don't know how much is the maximum number of objects you can have.

One of the method I would try, is to define a physic on objects which are "related" to the big ball : you don't need to have circle detection collision on every little ball. Just the ones who may collide with the big ball.

So I advise you to create a physic body when when the ball is on top of the little balls, and then removing it when the ball is lower. So with that you just have 8 maximum little ball to compute instead of +50.

post-5366-0-76643200-1395819017.jpg

(PS : I don't have a mouse to do the screenshot, sry :))

I've searched not deeply but I didn't find a "disable" method as the contrary of 

physics.enable(crow, Phaser.Physics.ARCADE); 

I don't have anymore infos, but in my own code, I used this :

crows.enableBody = true;crows.physicsBodyType = Phaser.Physics.ARCADE;

so maybe try to set to false and to null respectively. I can't test, but that 's what I'd try.

If you got smg new don't hesitate.

First of all: Lotti, did you try to use allowSleep on the body ? Give it a try before trying zaidars workaround.