Creating a CSV File in Python: Need Guidance and Code Example

Techi11

I'm relatively new to Python and I'm trying to create a CSV file from data within my program. I've read a bit about the csv module, but I'm not entirely sure about the best approach to create a CSV file and populate it with data. Could someone guide me through the process and provide a code example?

Let's say I have a list of dictionaries containing data about products, like so:

products = [
    {"ProductID": 1, "ProductName": "Widget A", "Price": 10.99},
    {"ProductID": 2, "ProductName": "Widget B", "Price": 15.99},
    {"ProductID": 3, "ProductName": "Widget C", "Price": 8.49}
]

I want to create a CSV file named products.csv with the following headers: "ProductID", "ProductName", and "Price", and then populate it with the data from the products list.

I tried looking for a solution by visiting numerous forums and websites like Scaler, but I was unable to do so. Could someone provide me an example of how to accomplish this using the Python csv module? I would be very grateful for any advice!

The csv module provides two classes for writing data to a CSV file: csv.writer and csv.DictWriter. The csv.writer class writes data to a CSV file in the form of lists, while the csv.DictWriter class writes data in the form of dictionaries. Since your data is already in the form of a list of dictionaries, it would be more convenient to use the csv.DictWriter class.

Here’s an example of how you can create a CSV file named products.csv and populate it with data from your products list:

import csv

products = [
    {"ProductID": 1, "ProductName": "Widget A", "Price": 10.99},
    {"ProductID": 2, "ProductName": "Widget B", "Price": 15.99},
    {"ProductID": 3, "ProductName": "Widget C", "Price": 8.49}
]

with open('products.csv', 'w', newline='') as csvfile:
    fieldnames = ["ProductID", "ProductName", "Price"]
    writer = csv.DictWriter(csvfile, fieldnames=fieldnames)

writer.writeheader()