[WIP] Teardrops of Mylen

Maz

Teardrops of Mylen

neutral-zone.png.1b8da5bd2e6b5bf5ab9e0579ec477dd4.png

Hi, I'm here to talk about a project I'm working on and to start a list of roleplaying enthusiasts who want to be notified about its development.

About me

My name is Romain, I am a French developer specialized in video games and web applications with 13 years of passion and experience. Personally, I am not a big roleplayer, but I like to create and offer applications focused on a specific theme and get feedback from passionate users of this theme.

What makes this project unique

The web application I'm working on is a roleplaying website with two main purposes: The first one is a roleplaying forum with an intuitive navigation and basic forum features: emoticons, reactions, tags to write decorated texts, dice to allow you to create forum games and so on, your imagination will be my only limit. The second one is a 2D isometric browser game based on an evolving environment that the players will create by writing the story of the universe, the stories of the planets, the stories of the gods and all the stories needed to make the role-playing experience as immersive as possible.

Writing and roleplaying are the main focus of the project, the game is just there to help people create and experience the story they are talking about. To ensure this, the game is limited to a daily play time of 5-10 minutes. This is achieved by a very low daily token limit. After that, players go to the forums and talk for hours about their imaginary adventures.

How it started

The project started with a French version with a single environment, a post-apocalyptic sandy world. The application was conceived by a roleplaying forum community manager who also loved an old independent browser game called "Adept". The guy doesn't know anything about web development, so he looked for a developer during the year 2021 and we started it as a personal project.

Where are we now