Camera question

Kilombo

Good afternoon,

I'm new to Babylon.js, I just started working on it, and I'm having some dificulties working with the cameras. I need to configure a camera to work with a limited zomm and unzoom, and with no rotation at all, it must only move with the cursors or by "click and drag" (something like one isometric camera, but with a bit of zoom possibility).

It looks like freecamera is the best choice, although i'm not used to the camera methods and specifications. The tutorial number 5 (in GitHub) is to generic to be helpfull.

Thanks in advance.

Kilombo

Thanks for your help. That's a good idea. You mean that I can use one of the existing cameras classes, and adapt some of the methods for my needs.

Lol. I Didn't even noticed that i could change and adapt the classes (not used to opensource)  :D

Best Regards,

Kilombo

I love your spirit, Kilombo!  Yes, taking functions, or entire classes from the babylon.js source code and putting it into your code as standard functions... is very enjoyable and addictive.  (And you can learn much, quick, that way.)  Don't forget to eat, because you will start having too much fun and forget to do that.  :)

camera.fov is a fun way to simulate zoom.  You can also .position your free camera in and out.  (use .radius on an arcRotateCamera)  :)  I always 'base' my cameras looking +z.  (.alpha = Math.PI/2 for arcRotateCamera to look +z, if I remember right.  .beta is for up and down.)  ArcRotateCam alpha and beta...  work with radians/circles.  .707 for 45 degrees, 1.57 for 90 degrees, 3.14 (Math.PI) for 180 degrees, 6.28 (2*Math.PI) for 360 degrees.

I did some fov (field of view) experiments.  See this post as wanted.