Using Bitmap data as particles

kevinAlbs

I am very new to Phaser and I wanted to try making a rain particle emitter (based off of the example: https://github.com/photonstorm/phaser-examples/blob/master/examples/particles/rain.js) but using BitmapData instead of an image.

What I found strange was that I could not refer to the bitmap data by the key. For example, my first attempt was:

var game = new Phaser.Game(800, 400, Phaser.AUTO, '', {preload: preload, create: create, update: update});  function preload(){      var droplet = game.add.bitmapData(3,3);      var dc = droplet.ctx;      dc.fillStyle = "#7BD1E9";      dc.fillRect(0,0,3,3);      game.cache.addBitmapData("droplet", droplet);    }  function create(){      game.physics.startSystem(Phaser.Physics.ARCADE);      var em = game.add.emitter(game.world.centerX,0,200);      em.makeParticles("droplet");      em.width = game.world.width;      em.setYSpeed(700, 800);      em.setXSpeed(30, 90);      em.minRotation = 0;      em.maxRotation = 0;      em.start(false, 1000, 5, 0);    }

I though referring to they "key" was a reference to objects in the cache. Is BitmapData an exception? I noticed I could not refer to the key when trying to draw a sprite either.

I was able to get this working by changing my preload function like so:

function preload(){      var droplet = game.add.bitmapData(3,3);      var dc = droplet.ctx;      dc.fillStyle = "#7BD1E9";      dc.fillRect(0,0,3,3);      game.load.spritesheet("droplet", droplet.canvas.toDataURL(), 3, 3);}

But I still would like to learn more about what is really going on with the keys in relation to the cache. I'm sure I'm misinterpreting something.