Game states

Froton X

I've resumed my learning of the phaser js and even though I'm still a beginner, I've noted that the "Var _____ state" always corresponds to the file name, like play.js starts off with var play_state, and so on. However, I've noticed another thing. Why is the game.js start of with the declaration "var game =.." and not end with "State"?

Is there a phaser dictionary or list showing all the possible definitions in each category and the "when" and "when not to" of using definitions a certain way? If I can understand the "whys" of something, I can learn it in record time, instead of brute force memorizing or just learning it through repitition alone. Those help, but I can do it much better knowing the "why"? For example, I found this in a phaser related example: "var GameState = function(game) };", it is different from any I've seen before, is it to get it to work on a webpage standalone? "GameState" is different from the other var declarations I've seen which used lowercase and "_". I don't just want to see and copy, I need to know and understand it! I only know some html before all this. I enjoy the challenge of trying to learn this "language" of computers.

It reads as if you are actually asking about programming syntax styles rather than game states themselves, so I am going to try to answer that.