Is Brackets good, or is using the other methods better?

Froton X

I use Brackets, and sometimes, I can't figure out if it's because of Brackets that something I put is going wonky, or because of my own amateur skills? Always so discouraging when something doesn't go the way I tried to get it to go. Makes me wonder if I'm more like a guy drawing stick figures and thinking he's a museum level artist in terms of programming. I'm an artist so sometimes I wonder if trying to learn phaser would actually be far too time consuming compared to somebody who is a programmer?

I can't think of a situation where a text editor would hinder you, but there are many IDEs that can help, such as Visual Studio and others that provide code completion (very handy).

As for being an artist moving to programming, that's exactly what I did and I'm glad I did. It's one thing to be able to design, but to be able to make those designs come to life is a whole other level, and so worth the effort!

Ah, Brackets has this feature of previewing what you wrote down without the need to do the setups listed in the begginers guide in order to preview a game. I'm wondering if the catch is that it wouldn't be previewing as accurately.

Really? That is quite encouraging to hear.

If you can get a simple web server set up (there are many ways to do this now, and each guide will likely have a different method of doing this) then all you have to do is open the browser, point it to your game and then when you make a change, just refresh it. I've not used Brackets (or Adobe Edge Code which is mostly the same thing) with Phaser so I can't comment on how well it handles things like asset loading (which is where I figure it may get a bit stuck) but otherwise it should work fine and be pretty much 100% accurate.

I see, I should give that a try then, I tried setting up an internal server but ran into some problems.