Create Water-flow-type physics when sprites overlap?

fubeca6

Hi all,

I'm very very new to Phaser and game dev in general. To teach myself the basics, I've been working on a few different prototypes that implement various physics mechanics, or address some other specific challenge.

Recently I created a prototype in which a rogue-like char has to avoid a few moving columns and get to a "win" sprite (...physics.arcade.overlap) to finish the level.  To make things more interesting I tried to implement some tiles where, on ...arcade.overlap the tiles would manipulate the players movement - essentially creating a water-like current, so that the players movement was lightly restricted in one direction, but enhanced in the other direction. 

Here's the code:

Under create():

// configure the water blocks    waters = game.add.group();    waters.enableBody = true;    water1 = waters.create(0, 96, 'water');    water2 = waters.create(game.world.width - 256, 224, 'water');    water1.body.immovable = true;    water2.body.immovable = true;

Under update():

game.physics.arcade.overlap(player,water1, water1Flow, null, this);    game.physics.arcade.overlap(player,water2, water2Flow, null, this);

water1Flow (since the two functions are nearly identical):

function water1Flow() {    player.body.velocity.x = 100;}

expected that this would have an impact on the player sprite's movement, but it hasn't done ANYTHING. I put a "console.log(player.body.velocity.x);" line in the function, and it showed that the velocity was 100, but in actual gameplay, that doesn't seem to be the case.

Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks

Is the player under the context of "this"? If not try to pass the player directly to the function:

game.physics.arcade.overlap(player, water1, water1Flow, null, player);
function water1Flow() {    this.body.velocity.x = 100;}

marvster,

thanks for the reply! I made the change but unfortunately had the same end result. Here I included: