Good multiplayer performance possible with phaser?

dlsso

I am interested in creating multiplayer games with phaser. I found a very small handful of examples. I used the one that looked the most functional to create a multiplayer space combat game. However, I found that when I put it up online it was very laggy.

Now the original author was using eureca.io, which may be slowing things down. I am also pretty new to coding so I may be running a lot of unnecessary updates. (Feel free to point out or fix mistakes in my code)

My big question is:

Do you think it is possible to create a fast real time multiplayer game with lots of updates happening using phaser, or am I running into some inherent limitations?

Subquestions are:

Do you think it would be faster if I learned sockets and re-wrote it without using eureca.io?

Do you have any theories about what specifically is causing the lag?  (Running locally and making multiple connections via multiple tabs is smooth, but multiple computers even on the same local network is always laggy)

I know I am sending a lot of updates. If anyone wants to look at my code and see if there is a performance hitch there that could be fixed, that would be very welcome also.

Phaser itself has little to no impact on multiplayer part of the game.

What you are seeing is also not a performance issue, it is the erroneous client-side code handling the data.

Applying "returning" data to the local player directly is a pretty bad idea.

What you should do by least, is add some actual interpolation algorithm to handle gradual changes of positions and velocity.

At some point I've used this algorithm by @thijsmie:

t2 = t * t    t3 = t2 * t    dx = t3 * (2 * (x0 - x1) + vx0 + vx1)        + t2 * (3 * (x1 - x0) - 2 * vx0 - vx1)        + t * vx0 + x0    dy = t3 * (2 * (y0 - y1) + vy0 + vy1)        + t2 * (3 * (y1 - y0) - 2 * vy0 - vy1)        + t * vy0 + y0
Here,

(t) is time factor for interpolation (0..1)

(x0, y0) is initial position