FileSystem for Complex Games

dragonjet

Introduction

Hi, I'm new to HTML5 game development, but have an extensive background in Flash AS2 game dev. I've already quit the flash game industry before AS3 came out, so I'm also outdated there. Since then, I've been a web developer for PHP in startups and also did JavaScript. So I have background in both Game design and JS scripting, thus HTML5 would be a perfect comeback for me.

Situation

I've seen Phaser docs and it's example and I'd have ro say I'm excited to start using it in a project in my mind. However when I get down to the code, some basic things prevent me from progressing.

The game I'm planning is a fairly large game, having multiple scenese, such as free-roam world, battle scenes, city with npcs, buy/sell, quests, equipment, so yes you're thinking correctly, it's an RPG.

Issue

Having a PHP background largely involving OOP and frameworks when I code, the standards stuck to me and I'm looking for it in Phaser. I'm sorry if I think this way, but Phaser looks more like an API to me, rather than a framework.

The statement should not be taken literal down to the last word, I just feel that way. It seems to me like a programming interface (api) where I can interact with the canvas or dom using its pre-built functions. However, the standards on where to put scripts, objects, images, or whatever is not part of Phaser.

or I might just be missing a guide on how to do it. If so, please link, thanks! :)

Alright, in the end, it's not about what you call Phaser, but how you actually do filesystem organization. I'd like to know how you guys do multiple scenes, with each of them having it's own JS file.

Like when I enter an NPC shop it will load (or execute) a separate javascript file. This is how it was during my PHP days, where each page load has different JS file so you know which script is running where.