Indirect Lighting or Emissions from Cycle Render / Blender

stnight99

Hello guys,

I'm currently working with blender (noob here) and trying to make a glowing objects, I finally created one by using Emission from Cycle Render.

Please Click here for the image

But when I exported it to .babylon file and render it on my browser / nodewebkit, I only got this:

Please Click here for the image

Could someone explain to me the proper process of exporting of an emitting objects on BabylonJS? 

Thanks

Hi stnight99 - welcome to the BJS forum.

As far as I know, the Cycles renderer uses two types of shader systems - Shader Virtual Machine and Open Shader Language (from Sony) . The Babylon Exporter for Blender can not translate these directly to something compatible with BJS. You have to use the Blender Renderer.

That said, as of Blender 2.71, you have the ability to "bake" out textures for UV mapped objects from the Cycles renderer. Take a look at these YouTube videos:

Introduction to cycles baking by Andrew Price. (He tends to be a little exuberant ;), but in the latter part of the video has an interesting example of glass and caustics.)

How to bake textures in cycles

The drawback of course is that using textures will not reflect things like animated lighting or objects (meshes).

Not sure if that helps your problem. But experiment and please, if you do, give us feedback on your results.

cheers, gryff :)

@iiceman

Well, I don't know about the exporting, but I guess you could always achieve something like this with some additional code. You want something like that ...

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1HECPU

... right?

yes i want to achieve something like that, but i'm not sure if i could select a mesh from the exported scene from blender to modify the behavior and the output. Let me try that method.

@gryff

Hi stnight99 - welcome to the BJS forum.