WebGL Primitive Batching unexpected performance

RedHawk96

Hello,

I'm kinda new to WebGL in general, I've started to make some batching experiences on primitives (just drawing a bunch of rectangles by using a combination of two triangles repeatedly).

I've started by implementing Direct Drawing that draws a rectangle (TRIANGLE_STRIP like) as soon it is requested:

var colorArr = new Float32Array(<color values here>);

var vertices = [
        rectangle.x, rectangle.y, 0.0,                                              // TOP LEFT
        rectangle.x, rectangle.y + rectangle.height, 0.0,                           // BOTTOM LEFT
        rectangle.x + rectangle.width, rectangle.y, 0.0,                        // TOP RIGHT
        rectangle.x + rectangle.width, rectangle.y + rectangle.height, 0.0        // BOTTOM RIGHT
    ];

_this.game.getShaderManager().useShader(_this.primitiveShader);

// position buffer
    gl.bindBuffer(gl.ARRAY_BUFFER, _this.vertexBuffer);
    gl.bufferData(gl.ARRAY_BUFFER, new Float32Array(vertices), gl.STATIC_DRAW);

gl.enableVertexAttribArray(_this.primitiveShader.attributes.aVertexPosition);
    gl.vertexAttribPointer(_this.primitiveShader.attributes.aVertexPosition, 3, _this.gl.FLOAT, false, 0, 0);

// color buffer
    gl.bindBuffer(gl.ARRAY_BUFFER, _this.colorBuffer);
    gl.bufferData(gl.ARRAY_BUFFER, colorArr, gl.STATIC_DRAW);

gl.enableVertexAttribArray(_this.primitiveShader.attributes.aColor);
    gl.vertexAttribPointer(_this.primitiveShader.attributes.aColor, 4, _this.gl.FLOAT, false, 0, 0);

// set uniforms
    gl.uniformMatrix4fv(_this.primitiveShader.uniforms.uMatrix._location, false, _this.game.getActiveCamera().getMatrix());

gl.drawArrays(gl.TRIANGLE_STRIP, 0, 4);

But then I wanted to go one step further and I've implemented a simple batcher (mostly by common sense, which is probably where I started wrong).