How to use Babylon animations in local space ( translate )

rainerpl

Hi,

Im relatively new to babylon, and i find its animation's api somewhat confusing.

Atm, my problem is making a game object jump forward. 
I managed to do that, but the animation is applied to the object's position coordinates in using world orientation.
If my game object rotates e.g 90 degrees, then the jump will be animated sideways, not forward.

How can i tell the animation api to use local coordinates(translate property value ).

Hi and very welcome to the forum. One thing that helps everybody to help you is for you to do an example in the Playground which people can then edit.

Read about it here

In the meantime there are alternatives to using the animation api. Use scene.registerAfter(Before)Render instead, perhaps these will suit you better. These pages may help:

Rotate and Translate

Rotate and Translate in Detail

Hi @rainerpl, welcome to the forum.  I'm no expert in animations, either, but I wanted to show you something.

http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#1JBLBL#2

This does not use animations, but it uses .rotate and .translate, done in local space.  Click on canvas, then try your WASD keys.

Maybe this will help you, and maybe not.  For now, let's pretend spacebar is your "do jump".

SOME experts know how to code keypress inputs... so you can hold W key (forward) and STILL use A, D keys to steer, and STILL use spacebar to jump.  I'm not sure how to do that.

IF you CAN get steering to happen WHILE continuously moving forward or backward, then the same can be done for jumping.  In other words... jumping would ONLY animate up and down... not forward or backward.  If coded better than I, and IF spacebar is pressed WHILE moving forward or backward, then it becomes a forward or backward jump.  (Because forward and backward keys are still held and remain operating WHILE the spacebar-jump happens.)