Player sprite falls through ground on collision...

siobhan

Hello! 

I'm new to Phaser and HTML5 game development (but not to JS), and have been going through a few free tutorials online. I've already done the mobile toddler's game tutorial, and a simple sidescroller game tutorial, great fun so far!

Today I tried to follow an infinite scolling game tutorial (not the same author and not as well written as the first two I followed), but I can't get it to work... The dog falls through the ground on collision with the fleas, and stays stuck down there while the game keeps scrolling. The dog also falls through the ground also after the digging animation...

I compared my game.js code to the author's Game.js code, line by line, and didn't see anything missing – I even went so far as to reorder everything the same way she did (the other files were quasi-identical). This is what I found:

• If I only paste the author's code in place of mine: the game still doesn't work as expected.
  • If I only use the phaser.js v2.1.3 file (from the downloadable source files), instead of the phaser.js v2.6.2 file I use: the game still doesn't work as expected.
  • If I use both the author's Game.js file and phaser.js v2.1.3: the game works!

I think that the article must be missing something that can be found in the author's code, because I followed the tutorial exactly.

But given that swapping her code for mine still doesn't fix the game, does anyone have any idea what might be causing the player to fall through the ground on collision/overlap? Might it have something to do with gravity, or other physics in Phaser 2.1.3 vs 2.6.2?

Thanks in advance!