Phaser: how to create scene for pazzle game

Yehuda Katz

Hello,

I am new to Phaser. What is the best way to create scene (menu, top, settings, game itself) for puzzle game? Should I create scene manually (code) or should I use some GUI and export results as JSON file which later I can use in Phaser?

Thanks in advance and I hope my question was not answered hundreds times

It's hard to believe that my question is so complicated... so far I came across with idea to use "Tiled" app but it's designed to create maps.

I do not mind to buy "Phaser Editor" app but it's again seems to be IDE for create maps, manage assets and write code.

So I will be the one who will answer this question. I am skeptical about friendliness of this forum as this was the very basic question and nobody shared a word. For any future developer who will come up with my topic, here are several solutions:

1) First of all many game developers create their own IDE. I strongly do not recommend to do that until you create couple of games without it. Simply because you do not know which actions you need to automate and how to simplify development

2) You can use Phaser Editor, there is good book in store on Phaser's web site. Unfortunately I bought several tutorials instead which was a big mistake... unless you plan to clone game form book by changing graphics.

3) I found Tiled to be able to create stages too... it's not designed for that but you can ignore and do not create tile map layer. However, I learned how to create elements on each later with custom sprite class (True Script is the way to go) but I still have no idea how to get reference to individual object on particular layer. This is needed because you will place similar buttons on one layer called for example UI... I noticed that Tiled has option to set name for each object, so may be this is a way to get individual object from layer and create it.

I wish you all success with your first steps in game development, do not give up!