PIXI with React or Angular

alevys

Hello! Please tell me whether to combine the pixi with react or angular to build the UI. I'm a flash developer with AS3 and turn on JS in the world of flash, works very effectively bundle Starling + Feathers, Pixi, I have not found a decent replacement Feathers. Spend time creating a UI library from scratch is not very desirable. What would you recommend friends? Thank you.

Hello, fellow Flash developer!

There're https://github.com/pixijs/pixi-ui in development and in serious need of documentation :) Poke @bQvle to dedicate more time to docs.

As for React/Angular, I'm sure @dmko can help you ;) I used pixi with angular over canvas and i know that people use react with pixi, even famous https://go.twitch.tv/adam13531

Rendering perf for ng4, React, Vue, Aurelia etc etc etc is all much of a muchness, some other stuff like JS weight (both over the wire and parsing on mobile devices) does vary but largely if you pick any of the larger web frameworks/libs the perf is comparable.

No idea how these frameworks/libs performance stacks up against pixi-ui.

For me there are usually significant benefits to using the DOM (via vdom or not) when creating UI stuff, but your use-case might differ where the advantages are less.

Generally the UI isn't going to be a perf hit unless you've got a ton of animations etc etc but, again, depends on your particular use-case.

I haven't done a ton of React stuff but I am tinkering a lot more lately :)

Here's a little JSFiddle to benchmark - it doesn't include PIXI stuff but just to see how long it takes to get from a render on a parent to an update on a child, and I think this is roughly the way I'd structure a React+PIXI app (the pixi updates happen in the child's componentWillReceiveProps() - and the render() from child would just always return null)

https://jsfiddle.net/dakom/e65tbxsy/