Understanding physics in Babylonjs

friz42

Hi!

I am new to Babylonjs. I wanted to learn more how it handles physics. I've found great demo: https://www.babylonjs.com/demos/physics/ , but I could not find any code that what do something like that. I actually wanted to make springs similar to this https://github.com/bit101/CodingMath/tree/master/episode16 but in 3D. Is there any opensource code that shows dynamic physics in babylonjs? Otherwise what materials would you suggest to study to understand how physics works in babylonjs and what are limitations.

Thanks!

P.S. I know about this lesson https://doc.babylonjs.com/overviews/using_the_physics_engine

Hi @friz42,

welcome!

That's a great question. The overview you found in the doc is really just an overview. One of my assigns github issue is to make the physics documentation great again, and you really made a good point in convincing me this is very much needed.

The best person to ask for demos is @Wingnut, which is an amazing list of wonderful demos from many different people. I hope he will paste a few playgrounds soon, so you can get to know the physics engine a bit more with code examples.

I would recommend to start with the simple playgrounds in the overview, and take it from there. You can also search for playgrounds on the documentation website.

The engines we are using, cannon.js (https://github.com/schteppe/cannon.js) and oimo.js (https://github.com/lo-th/Oimo.js/) have native demos of what's possible with the engines themselves. Anything you can do there is also possible with babylon (and hopefully a bit easier as well). 

Oh yeah, and THANKS for choosing ME!  heh

Ahhh Raanan... throwing a little poop back-at me, huh?  :D

Welcome Friz 42! 

But really, @Raggar is physics-engine hot hot hot!  He dives into "native" layers and just hacks and whacks like a mad man.  Brutal!