Game Engine, using Pixi.js, Typescript, gulp & webpack

idzhurov

Hi guys,

I am relatively new to game development, but I have to say I love it.

I want to start the development of a game of my own and I decided to try creating my own engine, mainly for the purpose of being part of the whole process. I think this will be the most appropriate way to completely understand everything that is going on behind the curtains. I picked Pixi.js as renderer and typescript as programming language. I will use webpack for bundling external modules and frameworks, and gulp for task runner.

I've done a lot of reading on the subject recently, but I could not find a tutorial, that is updated with the latest versions of the above, so I started my own.

With great help of different articles I found here, and all over google, I came up with the below:

https://github.com/idzhurov/pixijs-game-boilerplate

I am thinking of expanding this one up to a standalone game engine using pixi(I know, absurdly ambitious :D. but I will definitely try). At this point I am planning the creation of scene/scale handling, collision detection, asset loaders. Any opinion/advice/guideline will be greatly appreciated.

PS:

Big thanks go to @Ezelia for the above, as it is still relevant, and to @overthink for https://github.com/overthink/pixitest. Helped me a lot for my choice.

That's a noble cause, good luck with it!

I recommend to read ALL threads in this subforum. There were people making their engines spamming every small question in different topic.

About my setup:

1.  my own fork of pixi that is up-to-date with pixi-v5 "next" branch.

2. lerna + scripts for ts modules thanks to @cursedcoder from pixijs slack: it actually uses namespaces concatenation at the same time as import/export. I hate to import small files.

3. Integration between this and servers written on Kotlin. 

I did something similar in the past when I was first learning what it meant to make games on the web.