Canvas Query 1.0

Rezoner

scheme-transparent-github.png

CanvasQuery - an extended canvas for gamedevelopers

Playground - out of box - mouse, keyboard, scaling, gameloop and a layer to draw on.

Documentation and download

-- 

CanvasQuery is a solution that I've been using since for 2 years to develop my games - some of which has been commercial success featured in bundles and press titles like RockPaperShotgun or PCGamer.

It's targeted to developers who like to roll-out their own solutions regarding engine mechanics. It does NOT provide entity systems, sprites, collisions e.t.c - it just takes care of loading assets, drawing surface and user input such as keyboard or mouse.

The main focus of the project are native applications (desktop, mobile) and cutting edge browsers - reasonable platforms to deploy "full scale games" - hence it plays well with node-webkit and CocoonJS.

It's been around since a while - but I have leveraged the version number to 1.0 which means no API changes are allowed and that I have tested it in real-world applications.

It wouldn't be a performance boost as PIXI. But I've used a language called monkey-x with a webgl patch that really improves performance of rendering. The mojo API is very similar to your canvasquery's one with functions like:

DrawRect

DrawCircle

DrawImage

DrawImageRect

etc...

Here you can see the webgl implementation:

http://source.mungo.io/modules/mojo/blob/master/native/mojo.html5.webgl.js

Mojo is property of Blitz Research and this implementation is a fork of Monkey-X called Mungo.

I would love to see the same API for WebGL - however community familiar with OpenGL told me that the architecture is so different that it would not be beneficial to implement it in such way - but then - CocoonJS is using OpenGL with Canvas API and it works great. Confused :)

I suspect there are 3 reasons one might to want to use a library that provides a 2D canvas like emulation with a WebGL/OpenGL/OpenGL ES renderer -