Developing a 4 Player Card Game.

Rayj

I am not a programmer.  There, got that out of the way! 

However, I do know enough about various programming languages to just about be dangerous.

That said, I am interested in developing a 4 player card game (played over the internet) and can't quite figure out how to

keep track of each player and their cards. I know the concept of shuffling and dealing the cards randomly, but can't grasp how to

deal around the table to 4 players and track each hand.  (the game will be "trick" based.)

Another thing bugging me is how to keep the cards private so only the card holder can see his own cards and not the other 3 players. 

I've read a little about websockets and socket.io and wonder if one of these could come into play in this development?

Of course I'd like to be able to enhance this from a one table game to multiple tables.

And I will use PIXI,js for the graphics rendering.  Unless something better exists?

Thanks and look forword to your ideas or suggestions.

Ray

Hey Rayj!

It sounds like you have a good idea of how to get started on your game, using pixi.js with socket.io has been great in my experience.

If you are using socket.io you will have a server in node.js, and a client which is a html page with your pixi.js game. The way I see it most of the logic of your game will take place on the server. Keeping track of the four connected clients, their hands, deciding who wins and such will take place on the server. Using socket io you can send information about the client's hands, who wins, etc. and display it in a nice way using pixi.js and have the clients send their actions back to the server.

Now i'll try to answer your specific questions, sorry if I go a bit too in depth on the implementation rather than the ideas :|

1)  can't quite figure out how to keep track of each player and their cards