Sparky

Hi,

First of all, I'm new to WebGL and Babylon, so apologies for any noobisms. 

Basically, i'm trying my hand at an RTS, I've done a bunch of reading on Babylon and at the moment I'm just getting to grips with some of the basics. My plan is to get a very simple world in babylon that I can use to test and code some of the game mechanics.

I've so far created a simple world with a heightmap and texture as per the example in the tutorials. Where I'm struggling is how to approach setting that world to a grid. So any buildings etc have to snap to grid when being placed. I'll also want to be able to detect clicks on grid squares so I can display information about what's there, resources etc.

Really, I'm just looking for help with approach here. Should I be looking at a tiled ground? (I'm not sure how that would work, splitting up the height map image etc.) or should all the work be done with the detection of the mouse cursor and the grid can just be aesthetic only? 

Thanks for any help you can give!

(p,s> I've also looked at a bunch of examples, but haven't yet found anything that does what i'm after). 

Hi Sparky and welcome,

What you're describing has much in common with a project I've worked on, take a look at it here: http://www.html5gamedevs.com/topic/6557-babylon-projects/?p=87090

My approach was to subdivide the game world into cells, each cell having its own set of meshes (ground layer, water layer, building, etc.). Basically, nothing can exist out of those cells (it's not exactly true because there are vehicles). Each cell is then referenced with a set of (x,y) coordinates in the grid.

When you need to access game data, for example "is there a building on the cell next to me", you can just look up the cell at (x-1, y) and access its set of data. It can be the type of building it holds, terrain data, or any other thing.