Clones, Ripoffs, Original Ideas, where do you draw the line?

orange08

Hello, fellow forum dwellers.

I am a game developer. I've been making games for about 7 years, since before I was a teenager.

The reason I created this topic is because there is a definite problem in the world of game development, in particular, the commercial realm, where HTML5 games are being sold and licensed out to gaming portals.

During the years that I made games, I often would copy other people's ideas. At the beginning all I wanted to do was clone Chip's Challenge, because that was my favorite game when I was growing up... and I wanted to make my version of the game, with levels designed by me, with new things and ideas that I had thought of, that I thought would be cool additions to the game.

screenshot104.png

not Chip's Challenge, but (freeware)Tim's Titanic Test!

As I progressed in programming expertise, my games were more like mix ups between games. I would take ideas from my most favorite games, and combine them all to make a totally new creation. Even now I will occasionally create a "clone" or "ripoff" of someone else' game idea(putting my own personal spin on the idea, of course), however, these games have all been freeware... because I was cloning them for fun, not for money.