Problem with IIFE

BrunoHautenfaust

Hi, there! Newcomer here!  :)

Last night I began exploring Phaser. First I wrote everything in one js file. Then I decided to use IIFEs to organize my code. But I stumbled upon a problem I don't know how to fix. I have player.js and main.js.

Player.js:

var hero = (function(){	var hero = {		init: function(){			hero = game.add.sprite(game.world.width / 2, 0, 'idle');   << ReferenceError			this.scale.setTo(0.6, 0.6);			game.physics.arcade.enable(this);			this.body.collideWorldBounds = true;		}	};	return hero;}());

And main.js has:

var game = new Phaser.Game(800, 600, Phaser.AUTO, '', { preload: preload, create: create, update: update });........

The error I get(as some of you might already guess) is "Uncaught ReferenceError: game is not defined".

The only option I can think of so far is to instantiate another game in the player but that sounds completely wrong.  :wacko: I'm not too good with IIFEs and I find a perfect opportunity to understand them better while writing this game.

Thanks in advance!

Err... how exactly?
What I tried now is this:

var hero = (function(parameter){	var hero = {		init: function(){			hero = parameter.add.sprite(parameter.world.width / 2, 0, 'idle');   << ReferenceError			this.scale.setTo(0.6, 0.6);			parameter.physics.arcade.enable(this);			this.body.collideWorldBounds = true;		}	};	return hero;}(game));

var h = Object.create(hero).init();

Passing the game to the IIFE itself. Doesn't do the trick. Then again, 'game' is still undefined.

I was thinking about maybe doing some sort of property but I don't know.

EDITED.

You're making an object called "hero" with one method, "init". The first line in "init" overrides the "hero" variable to be a sprite. Is that what you want? At the very least, "this" in the next line won't do what you want it to do; it won't be the sprite you just defined one line ago.