Steps in making an isometric map?

Batzi

So I am new to isometric and I have been looking into the isometric plugin recently and I was wondering several things regarding the map.

So how do you go about building the map? Do you load a map image then add the grid to it or do you build the grid and add the map on top?

Let's take this image as an example

isometric_map_small_town_by_jongart.jpg

So if someone gives me this image, can I add a grid on top of it?

There's some good points here... http://evilmousestudios.com/optimizing-javascript-games/

If you scroll down you'll note I've left a comment about further optimization. It runs well in desktop, but like a dog on iPad (although it might not be in canvas mode).

It doesn't actually answer your question specifically, although some of the design choices are covered

And no generally you would make it out of hexagonal sprites. See the demos on the isometric plugin site.

That said you could use a single artwork, but you'd have to add your own grid maths , as I don't think this is covered by the plugin

That said you could use a single artwork, but you'd have to add your own grid maths , as I don't think this is covered by the plugin

Yes that's what I am looking for. I have the artwork (1 map) and I want to add my own grid onto it. Do you start with the grid or you load the map first or it doesn't really matter?

no because there are overlapping and layered tiles obscuring each other

So if I am stuck with a map with no tiles, I can't create an invisible grid on top which will be used to set the player's boundaries?

so your artwork looks nothing like the picture you supplied?

in your initial example... how would you place your player behind the bus? you'd either need an invisible mask the same shape as the bus or a duplicate sprite of just the bus (same for the lampposts, buildings, signposts, reeds, flowers, powerlines etc). but if you have the latter, why are you trying to create the map out of flat artwork?