Bad performances with tilemap and multi-layers (Tiled)

Bastountan

Hi everyone!

First things first, a disclaimer: I'm French, I read a lot in english but I rarely have the opportunity to write or speak in English, so forgive me for that  :lol:  .

I'm a beginner in the world of gamedev and Phaser in particular. I've already tried EaselJS (CreateJS) a couple years ago for a little game prototype I made using hand-made tilemap (based on a simple two dimentional array).

I wanted to try something more robust this time, I searched across the Web for a good gamedev framework and stumble upon Phaser.

It seemed to me the best tool to go, so here I am!

It's my first time using Tiled for creating my tilemaps. I've use the excellent roguelike tileset from KenneyNL (kudos to him! ^_^).

I've set up a simple sample map (to try a few Tiled features), followed several tilemaps examples provided on phaser's website. You can check the layers I'm using :

Note that the collision layer contains only a tile (a red/brown dot) that I'm currently using as a visual marker (there's no collision implemented yet).

post-17491-0-62923700-1449781690.png

My tileset is 16x16. The map is 200x200 tiles. I'm exporting it as JSON, layers data as CSV.

I'm also using states (which is really a cool feature that I was missing with EaselJS).

I've set up a jsfiddle hosting a stripped version of my source code with a few comments to explain the logic. There's also a fiddle with the JSON file of the tilemap if it can help.

I'm using a deadzone for my camera, and added a visual representation of this deadzone.

Everything is correctly loading, the map and all the layers are displayed accordingly, with the visual deadzone and my character (I'm on Ubuntu 14.04 x64 with a GTX 660 and using the latest Google Chrome version).

post-17491-0-10746400-1449781692.png

Everything looks fine, I can move my character within the camera's deadzone while the camera is not moving (which is what I was looking for).