Spritesheets and JSON files

THEMIKEBERG

So I'm quite new to Javascript and programming in general.

I've been following along on this tutorial:

https://github.com/kittykatattack/learningPixi#using-a-texture-atlas

I've come to a bit of a halt though, as I don't need to make sprite sheets. I have a bunch to use, a massive library that adds up to around 4000 separate sprites. They are all made into spritesheets though.

I tried using texturepacker however I'm not a fan (it also failed to create a JSON file) so I've decided to grab the suggested [url =http://renderhjs.net/shoebox/]Shoebox I threw in one of my spritesheets changed the "template" to pixl.js however it didn't save it as a JSON file but as a .js so I'm not sure if I'm following this right or not.

Seeing as I don't need to make spritesheets is there a better way to go about this?

Thanks in advance!

-Mike

What's wrong with TexturePacker? Creating sprite sheets could not be easier.

You choose PixiJS as Data Format and use file selector next to Data file to select your json data file.

Add the sprites by dragging & dropping their parent folder onto TexturePacker. It'll automatically update the sheet when you add / remove / change sprites in the folder.

Finally press Publish sprite sheet - that's it.

If you want to write optimized sprite sheets (8 bit png) set Pixel Format => INDEXED

post-13891-0-00177500-1450801691_thumb.p

What's wrong with TexturePacker? Creating sprite sheets could not be easier.

You choose PixiJS as Data Format and use file selector next to Data file to select your json data file.

Add the sprites by dragging & dropping their parent folder onto TexturePacker. It'll automatically update the sheet when you add / remove / change sprites in the folder.

Finally press Publish sprite sheet - that's it.

If you want to write optimized sprite sheets (8 bit png) set Pixel Format => INDEXED