Randomly Generated Background

jw405

Hi!

Does anyone know how I might be able to load a different background each time a game is started?

I have three different preloaded backgrounds and would like the game to select a random one each time the game begins.

I'm a complete newbie to Phaser and any help/tutorials would be hugely appreciated!

Can link code if needed.

Thanks!

I usually make randomized generation like this:

// this rolls either value 1, 2 or 3

var roll = game.rnd.integerInRange(1, 3);

// make separate if-statements for each value of roll

// (i dont know what kind of background item youre using, i use images like this, but add them to display groups)

if (roll === 1) {backgroundimage =  game.add.image(0, 0, 'image1');};

if (roll === 2) {backgroundimage =  game.add.image(0, 0, 'image2');};

if (roll === 3) {backgroundimage =  game.add.image(0, 0, 'image3');};

// Its basically just rolling a dice and telling the code what to do depending on the number it rolls

I'd do something similar but I'd use an array of images to keep things DRY-er

var images = [  'foo.png',  'baz.png',  'bar.jpg']backgroundImage = game.add.image( 0, 0 images[ game.rnd.integerInRange( 0, images.length - 1 ) ] )

This also makes it a little easier to dynamically load the images array should that ever be necessary.

I like your answer, mattstyles. I've been a bit annoyed with that repetition. Might try your way next time.

Although I currently often use this, since it allows me to adjust rolls more accurately.

chanceRoll(4) means it has 4/100 chance of being true.

// ROLL: OBJECT
        var object = null;
        while (object === null) 
            {
            if (game.math.chanceRoll(1)) {object = 'star1'};
            if (game.math.chanceRoll(4)) {object = 'star2'};
            if (game.math.chanceRoll(1)) {object = 'nebula1'};
            if (game.math.chanceRoll(5)) {object = 'anomaly1'};
            }