How important is not redrawing graphics?

Estatematt

Hi all.  I'm just learning pixi and I'm trying to adapt a canvas app to pixi.  In my canvas app, I had one method, drawAll().  It would loop through my data structure and draw everything to the context, even if it was exactly the same as the frame before.  I'm wondering how important it is performance-wise to reduce this sort of behavior. 
Can I clear/redraw a single PIXI.Graphics every frame and get the same 60fps?  Or should I restructure my application to keep track of a couple hundred separate PIXI.Graphics objects so that I can ignore recalculating the coordinates of all my shapes?  This would obviously be more of a pain in the ass.

Hope this makes sense without an example since my application is three thousand lines long.

Hello to you, and congratulations with first post!

Graphics object is very specific, if you clear() it, then all polygon coords will be re-calculated, and that's not good for javascript performance (recalculating graphics._webgl)

However, simple properties like "position", "scale", "rotation", "pivot" you can change every frame, its not a problem :)

Are you sure you need Graphics and not Sprites or Spine objects?

If the whole frame stays intact then you could do some logic to prevent render from being called in these situations. I have an invalidate-flag for that purpose which I update whenever rendering related values are changed or if there are tweens/animations playing.

Skipping idle frames is a great way to make sure mobile users dont drain their batteries as much as they would otherwise.

Yes.  My application draws lines on a grid and allows you to edit their brightness.  (here's a youtube demo of an old native version)

Before I had this sort of code.

for i in mySegments{
    mySegments.paint(context)
}