Worms Game P2 physics Question (+ demo)

Fractal Games

Hi everyone, 

I am moving forward on my worms project. I have had a problem with P2 physics for a while that I cannot solve and I need to solve it for impact events. 

THE DEMO: (Chrome Firefox only)

THE REPO:

THE PROBLEM:

On contact with my level (on a hill) my worm keeps sliding veeeery slowly and annoyingly. If the worm is in contact with the level he should stay still (but he won't).

ATTEMPTED:

Setting the body of the worm properties: velocity.x =0, velocity.y=0, rotation = 0, angle=0, angularDamping =0, angularVelocity = 0, gravityScale = 0.1 (allowGravityScale = true);

Setting the game.physics.p2 properties: friction = 1 (tried 0, 1000, 3000 etc), p2.world.defaultContactMaterial.friction = same thing, restitution = 1;

CODE OF INTEREST: 

WORM CLASS - specifically lines 112-117

GAME STATE

Thanks in advance for your help!

wormProblem.png

Caveat: I have zero (0, none, nada) experience with P2 physics.

Don't you need to make ContactMaterials for those things? I'm pretty sure P2 doesn't know how to treat collisions between your ground and your Worm without them. (ref https://github.com/schteppe/p2.js/wiki#materials and http://paulsalaets.com/posts/friction-and-bounce-in-p2)

I would love for there to be a multiplayer Worms game that's web-accessible, so please succeed. :)

Yeah your going to want to create a ContactMaterial with friction 1. This should cause the worm to stick to the ground.

10 hours ago, drhayes said:

I would love for there to be a multiplayer Worms game that's web-accessible, so please succeed. :)

Btw drhayes, AerialDrop is basically done! :) Now I need to really up the art. :( 

2 hours ago, rgk said:

Yeah your going to want to create a ContactMaterial with friction 1. This should cause the worm to stick to the ground.