Getting typescript setup

josharrr

I'm trying to figure out how to get typescript to recognize Babylon. My folder structure looks like this:

app
-assets
--babylon.d.ts
--babylon.js
-game
--game-model.ts

In game-model.ts I'm using this:

///<referance path="../assets/babylon.d.ts" />
import * as BABYLON from 'BABYLON'; 

But when I try to build I get this error:

client/dev/app/game/game-model.ts(2,26): error TS2307: Cannot find module 'BABYLON'.

I know that it's finding the babylon.d.ts file because it's not giving me an error on that now.

Maybe there's an easier way to do this using typings but I'm not finding babylon when I do `typings search babylonjs`.

I'd appreciate any help. I'm pretty new to typescript. Used it in one other project but wasn't importing 3rd party JS.

Thanks!

Modules and references is one of the most confusing and badly explained features of typescript... I really hope they do more to make it easier to understand in future.

From what I can see, it looks like you're mixing up your import syntax. The ///reference line tells the IDE and compiler a definitions file to use when working with the .js file. The "import *" syntax is for telling the code to import a typescript module from a file called BABYLON - that's a path, not just an alias. So unless there's a BABYLON.ts or BABYLON.d.ts file in the same directory, it won't find it.

In your case, you probably don't need the import line at all... just having the reference path to the .d.ts file should be enough for it to pick up the definitions and compile. To make it even easier, just use Visual Studio or VS Code and use a tsconfig.json file in the root:
https://code.visualstudio.com/Docs/languages/typescript

Once you have your tsconfig.json set up, you won't need to manually add references to all the .ts files you add, they will just be included automatically.