Evaluating Babylon.js for interactive 3d heatmap but seems slow

vegabook

I am a data scientist needing to visualize large multi-dimensional tensors, and flat-plane geometries are no longer sufficient for this as the data has become too big. I am thus (just beginning) exploring browser-based 3d engines because three dimensions plus animation can help to go to four dimensional data monitoring. However my initial tinkering seems to show that Babylon.js may be too slow for me. 

I have this code to draw 20*20*20 = 8000 boxes using CreateBox:

var carrier = []

var nb = 20;

for(x = 0; x < nb; x++) {

carrier[x] = [];

for(y = 0; y < nb; y++) {

carrier[x][y] = [];

for(z = 0; z < nb; z++) {

carrier[x][y][z] = BABYLON.Mesh.CreateBox('sphere' + x + y + z, 0.1, scene);

carrier[x][y][z].position.x = x;

carrier[x][y][z].position.y = y;

carrier[x][y][z].position.z = z;

}

}

}

which replaces the createSphere and sphere.position lines in the basic Playground example which can be found here.  

Here it is in the Playground.

However on a 3 year old i7 mac mini, admittedly with no dedicated GPU, I am only getting about 7 fps, whereas this example using three.js draws 150k, cubes, so 20x more, and on the same machine I easily get up to 40fps quite reliably. 

So is three.js a couple of orders of magnitude faster? Or is my code above too naive? I can see a situation where I will need 100 x 100 x 100 = 1e6 cubes on the page, each coloured slightly differently and I will need to be able to "fly around" and inside the cube relatively fast so that I can explore it for data features. Is Babylon.js going to be able to do this (assuming a faster machine)? I would like to hope so because I love the documentation and what I see on the forums so far. 

Please assume that I am a complete beginner to 3d animation. 

Edited by vegabook
added Playground example