JS OOP outside prototype function call ( scope )

metalslug87

Hi,

I'm new to OOP and Phaser, and I'm writing a simple game script to learn the OOP principles.

//main game function
battleLevel.prototype = 
{   

battle:function () {      
        this.obj1 = {
          enterMonsterMenu: function() {
            return console.log('enterMonsterMenu');
          }
        };    
    },    

} /* end OOP prototype */

//external contructor
var Hero = function (warpX, warpY, game, name, life, mana, speed) {
  //some code
};

Hero.prototype.monsterSelectUp = function() {
    console.log('monsterSelectUp');
    //this.enterMonsterMenu();
    battleLevel.prototype.battle.call(obj1);
};
I want to access enterMonsterMenu() method by calling the monsterSelectUp() but I can't call it properly. What I am doing wrong ?  

You're a little ways off currently.

In your snippet you have a few things that won't work with JS.

Have a look at the docs for how function.call works, the first parameter basically ends up setting scope for the function, so its probably not what you want here. It almost looks like you want to setup a static method to be called from the `battleLevel` object, but you can't really do that in JS.

It looks like you are setting up a hierarchy and you want to perform some level actions when the Hero reaches a certain point, for example, when the Hero reaches the 'end' of a level (stairs up or whatever). If this is the case you probably want to decouple the level from the hero (or, objects/actors within that level), you might be best off employing pub/sub (using event emitters) to separate out your bits of logic.

If you went the pub/sub route then the hero object would emit a request via an event, anything listening to that event would then update. It would end up something like:

// There are many many event emitter libraries to create basic pub/sub, some get quite complex
var events = new EventEmitter()

// Level Constructor
var BattleLevel = function() {