Tank physics

ChaseMoskal

Hey folks! I'm new to the HTML5 Game Devs community, and am in the process of learning BabylonJS.

I'm looking for advice on how I should simulate vehicular physics for tanks in an open source game project I've began with some old friends.

We're hoping to create a physical simulation for tank movement that is as simple and optimal as possible, because we want to be able to simulate as many tanks as we can get away with.

We're not looking for realism or high accuracy — we're more interested in producing a zippy and capable feel to the tank movement, where the player can easily roll over obstacles instead of becoming stuck on them, making the player feel in control rather than frustrated at a finicky tank that gets stuck on rocks and things.

I was hoping that somebody from this community might be able to point us in the right direction with some tips, pointers, and ideas about how we could accomplish physics based tank movement for our game.

Overall, with this game project, we're hoping to build a fun tank game, but also contribute to this community and the BabylonJS ecosystem by creating an open source framework for building online multiplayer realtime action games on BabylonJS.

Glad to have joined this community,
Thanks!
  - Chase, and the Nanoshooter team.

Could you say more ?

How do you intend to design the ground ? a heightmap maybe ? 

Do you intend to set some extra obstacles as independent BJS objects on the ground ? etc ? do you intend to use one of BJS pluggable physics engine (oimo or cannon) or to make your own ?

Hi Chase,

a tank is a heavy bulk of metal, that has good suspensions and low speed. It has some wheels (the tanks I know have 6 :) ), and a chain thing that circulates them. 

The chain would be the hardest part to simulate, IMHO. The rest is more than possible.