[Book & Game] Goblin Run - Procedural endless runner

Tom Atom

Hi, I am proud to announce I finally finished my first Phaser book: Create procedural endless runner in Phaser with TypeScript. Book is one big tutorial on creating procedurally generated endless runner from setting up project to full game with various features like spikes, in-air bonus jumps, gold to gather.

Book.jpg

Full game developed through the book can be played here: http://sbc.littlecolor.com/goblinrun

GoblinRun02_small.png   GoblinRun04_small.png

Currently, book is available at Gumroad. You can also read short blog post about it here: http://sbcgamesdev.blogspot.com/2016/09/phaser-book-on-making-procedural.html

This book is not for absolute beginners, who are learning what is variable and how to make loop. It is for people who have some basic knowledge what is Phaser, how to make something simple with it and now want to make something “bigger”, what will be beyond simple how-to examples. All aspects of game are covered, including evergreen topic on scaling for various window sizes :):

Scale.png

Just an FYI, but the link you included in the post has a typo. I was able to figure it out and give the game a play though.

Really polished looking game you have here! Definitely a good job done with the scaling too, which you mentioned. I know getting the scaling to work just the way I wanted it was a little tough the first time around, so I'm sure the book will be a valuable resource for those looking for help. I hope you have a lot of success with it!

21 hours ago, lumoludo said:

Just an FYI, but the link you included in the post has a typo. I was able to figure it out and give the game a play though.

Thanks a lot! Link is corrected.

21 hours ago, lumoludo said:

Really polished looking game you have here! Definitely ...