Coding approach to modelling custom/configurable pipe furniture

dale.holborow

Hi all, 1st time poster, only recently even aware of BabylonJS and extremely impressed!

I have a problem that after hunting around, I am still a bit unclear on how to best proceed. I'm an experienced coder, C#, PHP, JS, etc etc, with some game engine programming experience many many years ago, so I am aware of concepts etc, but new to the BJS tech and best approaches to a modelling idea I have.

I want to model metal pipe furniture in Babylon... think chairs, bed frames, nightlamps, whatever you can imagine, made out of standard household fittings. Think something like this: 5a794ea7ae4cf63ce576cec48ffc7a3c.jpg or http://inspiringhomeideas.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/Stunning-copper-pipe-furniture-design-plus-lead-pipe-furniture.jpg

The kicker is that I would like to be able to dynamically MODIFY the designs... say, increase the width, add an optional attachment, customise the design. Ideally, i'd come up with a furniture design, set parameters on which parts of mandatory, which attachments are optional, which segments can be scaled, apply all such modifications to the 3D rendering, and on approval, save the result for build and sale (if I make it that far). Note that this isnt simply scaling the entire model, instead I need specifically to allow certain parts to grow/shrink in length say, (according to availability of the pipe components), while not warping in any other way.

In the B/JS world, would you approach this with pure meshes? With Bones, to define connector points between joints? I've looked at various house/room designer tools but they tend to deal with furniture LAYOUT, not the design/creation of the furniture itself. And not that i dont want to allow people to design a product from the ground up, merely to apply mods to preexisting designs.

If anyone has approached a similar problem, or has ideas on where to start my investigations, I would love your input!