Panoramic View in BJS: 360° Equirectangular Photos and Videos?

Fabri

Hello Everyone, I want to use Babylon.js (great library!!) to show 360 panoramic view for equirectangular photos like http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/textures/equirectangular.jpg

The example code http://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#11GAIH is perfect for my needs, but result scene looks like mirrored (look at the child in the original photo and in the rendered scene)... I can suppose the main reason (skyboxMaterial.backFaceCulling = false and camera inside the box)...

However, does exist a way to show in a 360 panoramic view an equirectangular photo avoiding a mirrored result? 

Thanks for your help :)

Hiya @Fabri, welcome to the forum!  Sorry it is taking so long to get replies.  Although I have found no solutions, I've certainly tried a few (hundred) things.  I'm no expert, though.

This is an interesting challenge/issue!  No matter what I tried (so far), I couldn't get that dark blue speedboat to move to the OTHER side of the pier.  :)  hmph.

BUT... I ONLY tested material and texture things (which I suck-at).  This MIGHT BE a job for the view matrix. In other words, do something to the camera->world relationship... instead-of the skybox/texture (I suck-at matrices even more).  :)

I dunno.  I think there's a matrix transformation that could do something magical, for this.  hmm.

All in all, good find, good challenge, not a bug, but a missing feature or yet-to-be-discovered adjustment.  Let's hope we get some more replies/help, soon. 

Welcome again, good to have you with us.  We'll talk again soon.  I'm going to keep goofing-around with your nice playground (thx for that, too), and I'll report discoveries, here.  Be well, party on!

Hi Wingnut, I am happy to have received a response from you today...(I was almost losing every hope to get an answer)

I agree with you that what I found is not a bug but may be just a missing feature...unfortunately I need such feature...