Mapping Of 3D object to Gyro Data from Device (calibration)

Abdullah

Background: I am a newbie in game development I'm creating motion sensor game Air Table Tennis on Babylon.JS in which user can control the paddle of table tennis with his/her smartphone. I am using gyroscope/rotational data of mobile in the form of Quaternion to avoid Gimble Lock and sending the data to server(nodeJS). So Gyro data is coming from mobile through node JS.

Problem: So, I am using Quaternion, But I am unable to map my paddle as my device. (paddle is not exactly in the position where my mobile is currently now, although moving on x,y,z axix give me correct result). So my question is how to calibrate/Map 3D object same as my mobile device?

@wighawag@RaananW@Deltakosh Sir kindly help me, I'll be very thank ful.

Thanks in Advance

Hiya Abby!  ;)  It has only been 85 minutes... be patient, my friend.  I have NO mobile devices at all... so this issue is difficult for me to troubleshoot.

Just relax - maybe do less person-pinging, and perhaps make us a very simple testing playground... no paddles, no table, just a plane or box, with devOrient active.  Maybe some showAxes arrows, too. 

Add-on some Text2d or html continuous-readouts (display) of current box.rotationQuaternion.  You could also TRY to display current values of the device's orientation, but I'm not sure how.

Create a "deviceOrientation testing laboratory" for yourself and helpers - using all that ping-energy that you seem to have.  ;)

On the mesh, this is a .rotationQuaternion AND a .position problem, yes?  Or, just .position?  Does mesh .position "jump", the first time, when device is tilted?  Does it jump for both rotation and position?  Interesting challenge.

Also, you CAN buy Uncle Wingnut a really nice "pad" if you wish.  :)  I would certainly allow that.  No phone or camera necessary, just a high-powered touch-active notepad computer, and maybe some extra battery packs and charger.  heh.