How best to create a composite model of head, brain and spine, for dynamic animation of head/neck movement?

TrevorPT

Hello,

I'm new to Babylon.js (fantastic library!), to Blender, and to 3d animation in general (it's been a couple of weeks). I'm on an R&D project where we have a motion sensor attached to someone's head, and would like to model the motion in our nw.js application. So far I have been able to take a simple model of a human head and shoulders, add an armature, export the mesh/armature from Blender to Babylon, import that into our project, and make the head/neck move by manipulating the rotation of the "neck" bone (the skeleton is simple, it has 5 bones: 1 root, 2 shoulders, 1 neck, 1 head). It works great and the mesh moves pretty realistically in 3d-space considering we're only providing one sensor input and manipulating one bone.

Now, however, we'd like to use a translucent model that shows the brain and neck vertebrae moving (the simple one I have working is an opaque model with skin). I've hit a wall with how to approach this.  I'm not sure if I should ask in the Babylon forum or a Blender forum, and I'm not even sure what are the right questions to ask.

What I've tried so far is: I found a human model that had all the components (brain, spine), and cut it off at the shoulders. The model consists of 4 meshes (1 for the head/shoulders, 1 for the spine, 2 for the brain). I've successfully imported these meshes into our app and can display them using Babylon. I can rotate the meshes together no problem.