Top Down Game with rotating camera?

muh2k4

Hello fellow developers,

I am new to the Game Development world, but I want to work on a small game. Basically the game idea is based on "Tap Tap Dash" like games. I want a constantly running player in a Top Down game perspective. For a better understanding check this link out: 

Currently I have managed to import a level from "Tiled" and move a player along the level including changing the direction. Therefore I set the camera to follow the player sprite. But now I have problems with the rotation of the camera. At some point I read that you cannot rotate the camera, but only the world itself. If I do this, the game is rotate on the Point (0,0). A 90 degree turn totally makes the world disappear. Can you help me out how I rotate the camera in a top view game? I also tried to rotate the tiledlayer and than reposition it. But it had no effect...

Also do you know of someone who has implemented a game like this in Phaser with the camera rotation or do you have some basic advice for me how to approach this game? I find very little information about this type of games for Phaser... Maybe I should use another Framework for this? I really appreciate any kind of help :)

Hello spencerTL,

Thanks for this idea! I tried to apply it like this:

this.game.world.pivot = new Phaser.Point(this.player.x, this.player.y)
        this.game.world.rotation = Math.PI / 2;

But something weird happens: 

I should mention that I am using Tiledmaps for the level design (Water + Road & Arrows) and Sprites for the coins (generated from Objects from Tiled).

Maybe I am missing something essential... Also when I try to zoom into the world with 

this.world.scale = new Phaser.Point(2,2)

The camera get's totally lost at the top left of the game. 

5906ddcbee3ac_ScreenShot2017-05-01at09_03_01.thumb.png.7459b0d9f296f8bef94400c3cc3059bd.png

Thanks for your help so far. I would really appreciate further suggestions. I am a little bit lost here :)