Problem with mesh collision detection

Steak

Playground DEMO: https://playground.babylonjs.com/#Z88Q4W#2

Hi,

this is my first post in this forum. I started with bjs a few weeks ago and I love it! :)

I played around with the tutorials and while creating a small project I detected an issue with collision detection (intersects.Mesh).

The sphere's in my demo have different colors, representing their life count. In my example I want to detect the life of an object when being hit by the ShotCylinder and reduce the LifeCount by 1.

Now when I hit the object in my console it decreases the life constantly.

How can I stop the life from dropping ? (Maybe stop the collision, I only need the detection once) It seems like the collision seems to survive the dipose().

Maybe someone could help me. Hope my code readable, I am not a professional coder :D please keep that in mind!

Have a great day !  :)

Nils

Hi Steak!  Welcome to the forum... good to have you with us.

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#Z88Q4W#15

Whelp... 13 versions and 6 hours later, I have accomplished nothing.  :)  Ain't I quite the helper?

Quite a drastic re-coding.  I turned off the sphere animations (coming at the camera)... and I just made a single sphere... which appears on-screen after about 5 seconds.

Take a shot at it.  Our "shot" (shotCylinder) heads-out on an intercept trajectory... and when it hits... it just keeps-on intersecting, constantly, no matter what I try to do.

Open console.   Tune your editor to lines 156-159 area.  After the intersect... I try lines 157-159, to STOP the intersecting after the first one.  No joy!

Notice line 160.  It used to be a shot.dispose(), but I decided to change to a shot.setEnabled(false).  I thought it was a good idea, but doing that makes the shot quit flying towards the sphere.  Not sure why THAT is happening, either.