imported blender .babylon mesh/scene axis' off

DylanD

Hey again everyone, I have a problem, I import a mesh and when I try to rotate one of the child pieces the piece rotates around the centre of the parent mesh/import instead of its own axis' which is what I meant for it to do.

Any idea whats wrong? and or how to fix it?

I think it could possible have to do with how I made the object in blender, but I'm not very good with blender, the object is only 4 object in one really, imagine it was a piece of wood with 4 wheels and I want to rotate the wheels around their y axis when instead it rotates around the centres axis.

heres the line I use to import the meshes and rotate(the mesh is made of 4 pieces and I just want to rotate the first piece around its own z axis):

BABYLON.SceneLoader.ImportMesh("","./models/","myMesh.babylon",this.scene,(meshes)=>{

importFunc(meshes);

meshes[0].rotation.z += Math.PI/4;

}

Here is a playground to illustrate what I want to happen and whats actually happening.  The green cube is doing what I want rotating about its own axis',  the red cube it what actually happens.

Pretend as though both of those cubes are from the same imported mesh.  Eg meshes[0], and that the sphere is the centre of the meshes.

1 hour ago, Deltakosh said:

Hello

there is no playground in your post :)

By the way your code is good. The mesh will rotate locally around its center if everything is set up correctly in Blender.

Here is a simple example:https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#MGY5FK

Hey DeltaKosh, strange I noticed when I first posted it, the post didn't have a playground even though I added it so I added it again,  here Is the playground I wanted to show:

https://www.babylonjs-playground.com/#LJPRIN#2

It must be something wrong in blender... any good tutorials that you could suggest?

Thanks

31 minutes ago, dbawel said:

@DylanD 

Chance the child world space to local space:

https://doc.babylonjs.com/features/position,_rotation,_scaling

DB