Morphing Objects

hcmetal

Hi everyone.

I have been trying to create a swaying curtain (indulging myself with archviz cliche :)) in babylon js.

After digging around the internet and the forum, I realized that advanced cloth / soft body simulation is not yet possible in babylon right now (please corret me if I'm wrong).

I studied RaananW's wonderful cloth physics simulation demo and achieved interesting results. However, with higher subdivisions (100 by 100 for example),  the simulation is very slow.

So I came up with the idea of trying to achieve a simpler, pre-baked vertex animation using Morph in babylon.

I simulated the curtain cloth in 3ds max, baked the animation onto the mesh, and created a sequence of meshes as morph targets.

They look like this in max:

curtainsmax.jpg.24a4ac287fa13f262d06e9d2a7999ca1.jpg

The simulated meshes are exported into a single .babylon file.

The first curtain is used as the main mesh and visible in the scene, the other curtains are used as morph targets and invisible.

Playground:

https://playground.babylonjs.com/#H1VSP6#1

Now I'm having two problems morphing the curtain in babylon:

1. Some of the faces of the mesh rotates in a funny way during the morph, like this:

curtainsbabylon.jpg.1560f184e5931ceae2b2bd24f0509fd6.jpg

I'm not sure if this is a problem with the meshes exported from max or the Morph function itself.

Here is one of them, fresh out of max: curtain100.obj

2. How to chain the morphs, from one target to the next, so we can have a longer and more interesting animation?

Hope someone can point me to the right direction.

Thanks a lot!

Edit:  Here is the .babylon file incase the CDN doesn't work:

curtains.zip